RM of Maryfield reeve resigns

Two councillors then resign their positions to run for reeve

February 23, 2021, 1:59 pm
Rob Paul, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter


The resignation of the reeve and two councillors has left three vacancies on the RM of Maryfield council.

Maryfield Reeve Cam Thompson has resigned from his position.

Thompson was first elected as a councillor in 2012 before being elected reeve in 2014.

He had been re-elected by acclamation in the municipal elections in November, 2020.

He could not be reached for comment for the reason behind his decision.

Following the reeve’s resignation, Louis Hebert, the councillor for Division No. 1, and Jeffrey Chambers, the councillor for Division No. 2, both resigned from their positions to run for reeve.

Hebert was first elected councillor of Division No. 1 in 2016 and was re-elected in November in a three-way race.

Chambers was first elected Division No. 2 councillor in 2011.

As a result of the resignations, the RM of Maryfield has put out a notice of call for nominations for the position of reeve, councillor for Division No. 1 and councillor for Division No. 2.

Nominations for candidates must be received by the RM of Maryfield by March 17.